Skip to main content
Signal8

Insider Trading Statistics

How often corporate officers, directors and large shareholders buy and sell their own company's stock, how large those trades are, and how quickly they are reported to the SEC on Form 4. Each statistic below is a complete sentence you can quote, with a link to that statistic.

Form 4 filings through November 3, 2026. Recalculated daily. See the methodology. To browse the filings themselves, see insider trades.

Key statistics for 2025

  • In 2025, 5,250 corporate insiders at 2,366 companies reported 14,843 purchases of their own company's stock on SEC Form 4 in Signal8's dataset.

    Link to this statistic
  • In 2025, 12,106 corporate insiders at 3,123 companies reported 42,630 sales of their own company's stock on SEC Form 4 in Signal8's dataset.

    Link to this statistic
  • In 2025, insiders reported 2.9 sales for every purchase of their own company's stock (42,630 sales and 14,843 purchases).

    Link to this statistic
  • In 2025, the median insider purchase was worth $39,600 and the median insider sale $285,000.

    Link to this statistic
  • In 2025, directors made 61.1% of insider purchases, officers 38.5% and 10% owners 36.2%. One insider can hold more than one of these roles.

    Link to this statistic
  • In 2025, 13.6% of insider purchases (2,015 of 14,839) were reported on a Form 4 filed after the two-business-day deadline, compared with 3.6% of insider sales.

    Link to this statistic
  • In 2025, the median insider purchase was reported one business day after the trade.

    Link to this statistic
  • In 2025, 399 companies had a cluster buy, meaning at least three different insiders bought the company's stock within 14 days.

    Link to this statistic

2026 so far

  • In 2026 through November 3, 2026, 4,421 corporate insiders at 2,161 companies reported 11,273 purchases of their own company's stock on SEC Form 4 in Signal8's dataset.

    Link to this statistic
  • In 2026 through November 3, 2026, 11,787 corporate insiders at 3,130 companies reported 37,797 sales of their own company's stock on SEC Form 4 in Signal8's dataset.

    Link to this statistic
  • In 2026 through November 3, 2026, insiders reported 3.4 sales for every purchase of their own company's stock (37,797 sales and 11,273 purchases).

    Link to this statistic
  • In 2026 through November 3, 2026, the median insider purchase was worth $49,997 and the median insider sale $310,360.

    Link to this statistic
  • In 2026 through November 3, 2026, directors made 58.7% of insider purchases, officers 37.6% and 10% owners 36.4%. One insider can hold more than one of these roles.

    Link to this statistic
  • In 2026 through November 3, 2026, 10.4% of insider purchases (1,177 of 11,273) were reported on a Form 4 filed after the two-business-day deadline, compared with 3.2% of insider sales.

    Link to this statistic
  • In 2026 through November 3, 2026, the median insider purchase was reported one business day after the trade.

    Link to this statistic
  • In 2026 through November 3, 2026, 322 companies had a cluster buy, meaning at least three different insiders bought the company's stock within 14 days.

    Link to this statistic

Insider stock purchases by year

Form 4 purchases (code P) by officers, directors and 10% owners in Signal8’s dataset.

14,843202511,2732026to date

Embed this chart

Free to use on your site or in an article. Paste this HTML; the chart updates daily and credits Signal8. The credit link in the code is nofollow, as search engines ask of links in embeds. If you write about these figures, you are welcome to link to this page in your own text.

Year by year

YearPurchasesSalesSales per purchaseInsiders buyingMedian purchaseMedian salePurchases filed lateCompanies with a cluster buy
2026 (so far)11,27337,7973.44,421$49,997$310,36010.4%322
202514,84342,6302.95,250$39,600$285,00013.6%399

Methodology

Source. SEC Form 4 filings by officers, directors and owners of more than 10% of a company's stock, as collected in Signal8's dataset from September 3, 2024. The first year reported is the first full calendar year that dataset covers (2025). Figures describe that dataset.

What counts. Purchases are transactions reported with code P (an open-market or private purchase) in whole shares; fractional lots, which typically come from dividend reinvestment or employee share plans, are left out. Sales are transactions reported with code S. Option exercises, grants and awards, shares withheld for tax, gifts and every other transaction code are excluded, as are all derivative securities. A Form 4 filed by a company as its own reporting owner is excluded.

One trade. All the lines one insider reported for one company, one transaction type and one date count as one trade, because a Form 4 often splits a single day's buying into several lines by price. A line reported twice, for example in an original filing and an amendment, is counted once.

Year. The year of the transaction date. The current year is year to date, and its figures, including the late-filing share, can still change as filings arrive.

Size. Shares multiplied by the reported price, summed over a trade's lines. A trade with any line reported without a price is left out of the median. Totals are not reported, because a few filings with a share count or price entered in the wrong units would dominate any sum.

Filed after the deadline. A Form 4 is due before the end of the second business day after the transaction. A trade counts as filed after the deadline when the filing's date, in US Eastern time, is more than 2 business days after the transaction date. Weekends, federal holidays and stock market holidays are all treated as non-business days, so the deadline used is never earlier than the real one. The SEC allows some transactions to be reported later, and an amended filing can add a line after the original, so a late filing is a fact about timing only.

Roles. Taken from the relationship the insider stated on the filing. One person can be an officer, a director and a 10% owner at once, so the role shares can add up to more than 100%.

Cluster buys. A company has a cluster buy when at least 3 different insiders bought its stock within 14 days. Purchases made by several insiders on one date at exactly one price, the pattern of an employee share plan or a placement, are not counted toward a cluster. A company is counted once per year however many clusters it had.

Not included. Stock price performance after insider trades is not reported. These figures describe what insiders reported, not what happened to the stock afterwards.

How to cite

You are welcome to quote any statistic on this page with a link to it.

Signal8, "Insider Trading Statistics," https://signal8.ai/insider-trading-statistics (accessed November 3, 2026).
<a href="https://signal8.ai/insider-trading-statistics">Insider trading statistics (Signal8)</a>

More statistics